In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

reload 45 long colt

I am new to this caliber and I think I have the old style dies. I need step by step instructions on loading the 45 long colt with hornady 200 gr FTX, 800x powder, they fall into the case. Please Help THANKS to all

Comments

• MIKE WISKEYMIKE WISKEY Member, Moderator Posts: 9,961 ******
    edited November -1
    the older .45 colt pistols use a .454" bullet, your Hornady's are probaly .451". the older dies are ment for the larger bullets. you could try 'neck sizing' with .45 acp dies.
  • richardaricharda Member Posts: 405 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Or, not expanding the cases after sizing.
  • geeguygeeguy Member Posts: 1,047
    edited November -1
    The expansion should not allow the bullet to "fall into the case". My guess is to listen to Mike's advise and check the bullet dia.

You may have the wrong bullet for loading.
  • charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    +1 for old dies are for .454. You could try a smaller expander ball or set the existing one really high. Your die set might not size the case down enough, try a FL sized without the expander in place.. A new set of Lee carbide dies is a good solution.

I never liked loading 45 Colt, the rims are thin and its easy to tear the case out of the shell holder (carbide sizer is the ticket). 250 grain is the traditional weight. Cast bullets work just fine in a pistol.

What firearm are you loading for?
  • smokeymt46smokeymt46 Member Posts: 58 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    T/C contender 12" quote:Originally posted by charliemeyer007