In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Sighted In My Bow......

quamnetquamnet Member Posts: 332 ✭✭
I recently bought a used bow off the internet. It was Mathews Z-Max and had everything I was looking for, EXACTLY. It came with a Cobra Sight, but some of the screws were rusted. Needless to say by the second time out I managed to strip them. So last week I went out and bought a new Corba sight. I am new to bows and heard that I should set my pins at 20,25,30 yrds. After getting it right on at 10 I moved back to 15, then to 20, and finally to 25. I'll be damned if there isn't only a difference of 1/2" every five yards. So from 15 to 25 yrds. I only need 1 pin. The only thing is that at 25 yards, it shoots about 3 inches to the left. Is there anything I can do about this or just aim a little farther right? Also, what you then recommend me setting my other 2 pins at? The guy at the range said to go with 10 and 35/40 yards. Let me know what you think.

Comments

• sealyonsealyon Member Posts: 313 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Hi quamnet. Heard nothing but good things about Mathews so far. My first suggestion is to check your arrow rest. May have to move it in or out a little. Three inches at 25 yrds. won't require much. Canting your bow will cause this also. Make sure you are holding the bow vertical. New bow with a different grip feel is easy to hold slightly off vertical without knowing it. Good luck and enjoy your new bow...
  • SunraySunray Member Posts: 773 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1