In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Whisker Buscuit--what kind of fletching?

idsman75idsman75 Member Posts: 13,398 ✭✭✭
I have a Whisker Biscuit on my bow (PSE Predator). I've been shooting fairly well with it. It's my first bow and I'm new to the archery thing.

What kind of fletching should I use if I'm using a Whisker Buscuit? Is the biscuit hard on fletching? I've been using Turbo Nocks instead of fletching lately but I've been breaking those like crazy. You can't shoot at the same target twice if you are using a Turbo NOck. It's easy to destroy a Turbo Nock if your second arrow comes too close to the first one.

Should I go with feathers or vanes? Feathers seem to make a little more sense to me since they would probably retain their shape after being folded back by the buscuit.

Comments

• fishermanbenfishermanben Member Posts: 15,370
    edited November -1
    Idsman, I have always preferred plastic vanes. They do have their drawbacks, but I really like their durability. I really don't believe that a mis-shapen vane will throw your arrow off that much, unless you're shooting for points. If I were you, I'd try one set of plastic vanes with a helical twist and one set with straight vanes just to see what your bow spits out better. If straight vane works for you, you will add some serious speed.

Another note: This year's biscuit has softer whiskers where your vanes come in contact, that should make it a little more gentle.

Don't be a stranger. We got a nice little friendly/unmoderated forum over here.

Ben
  • headzilla97headzilla97 Member Posts: 6,445
    edited November -1
    I asked the bow shop guy the same question the other day he told me to use plastic fleching it will not come off. he then proceded to show me some of his arrows that hes shot through his bow still intact