In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

how do you guys do it?

joshmb1982joshmb1982 Member Posts: 8,929
ive been shooting a bow an arrow of some sort since i was about 5 years old. started with a little yellow longbow and suction cup arrows. the last couple years ive gotten back into it. went out and bought a parker legend ep compound and the whole get up. im not the greatest shot in the world but at 40yds im confident i can make a good kill shot on a deer. ive been laid off since the beghinning of september this year. been out trying my luck since mid-late september and today i think im calling it quits. at least for this year. saw 2 deer i could have taken a shot at and didnt. one was a doe that looked to be this years fawn. the other was a nice buck buck that was about 40yds away but there was a bit of brush in the way and i was comfortable with the shot. that was in early october. about 2 weeks ago now i moved my treestand and the second day in it i saw a small herd of deer(probly 4-6 deer) about 125 yards off. waited a few days and moved my stand over some. this is now up on top a pretty goodsized hill. it was about 25 degrees here this morning when i started trekking up to my stand. being a good walk i only put on a layer of thermal bottems and pants and 2 thermal tops and carried my coveralls and jacket in a backpack. i get on top of the hill by my stand and im sweating pretty good.. and i was not rushing in the slightest. I started climbing the tree (it was a decent sized hickery) the bark wasnt flaking to bad at all so i went on up. i didnt realize hickery bark was so damn hard. the teeth on my climbing treestand were only sinking in mabye 1/4 inch. i goot up about 15 ft and said ---- this and got down. if i wouldnt have been sweating i would have just sat down under a pine tree but with my hair soaked i fig