In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

releases...to be or not to be?

A.GunA.Gun Member Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭✭✭
ok, I am a gunbroker vet....but I'm a younger guy. I hunt with my grandfather and uncle. I have always hunted with a crossbow but this season I have been using my grandfathers' old "bantam" and it seems to be working out. Only problem is my fingers are taking a beating...he bought me a leather slip pad to go over my shooting fingers but I hear that releases are very deadly accurate...anyone have any input? I'd like to know the pros/cons if anyone has any info.

Thanks,
A.Gun[8D]

Comments

• shoff14shoff14 Member Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I recently changed from fingers to a release with my new bow purchase. Personally I think everyone should first learn to shoot with fingers. I think that if you shot with fingers you will become more accurate with a release. You must be very smooth with fingers to be accurate, this smoothness can translate to releases.

The one thing that you have already learned being a finger shooter is that your fingers get torn up if you shot a lot, this is normal. LOL It sounds like you are using a tab, have you tried using a shooting glove? I hated gloves cause I could not get a good feel for the string. However, my father uses a glove so shooting does not tear up his fingers.

That being said, I love shooting with a release. I am shooting with a Tru ball 3D release. It is a hand type release. I did not like releases that strap to my wrist. Knowing the fact that you are shooting with fingers, almost any release will work for you. You can always go out and buy a cheap $15 dollar one at wally world, nock it right underneath your arrow and shot some. See how you like it, then go find a good release.

And welcome to bow shooting.