In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Climber Height

mschexnamschexna Member Posts: 194 ✭✭✭
Morning

I am new to the Gun Broker forums and this is my first post in the bow hunting section....but I have a question concerning height of a climber stand.

This will be my first year to bow hunt....and I have decieded to hunt out of a climber, I am trying to get an idea of how high you take them....10, 15, 20, 25ft.....what a good height for bow hunting.

Thanks in Advance
Mike

Comments

• Options
    shoff14shoff14 Member Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    There really isn't any really true answer. I always try to hunt high enough that I am shooting well above ground brush. I also hunt fence rows so I need to have a clear shooting lane out into the field that I am hunting. I have had stands 15 feet all the way up to 30. The 30 foot one was because of the tree being shaped oddly.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Let me also ask this question.....

How much does the height effect the arrow.....

Example....say I am 20ft off the ground....will my arrow fly true like it would if I was on the ground shooting at targets or will it shoot an inch or two higher or lower at that height.....

Mike
  • Options
    A.GunA.Gun Member Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have noticed I shoot a little higher out of a tree then on the ground, I climb up on the neighbors dog box for prac though haha
  • Options
    bang250bang250 Member Posts: 8,021
    edited November -1
    My preference for height is around the 20' area give or take some.

On the arrow flight, if you have a way to do it, sight your bow from the stand or similar position.

Welcome to the archery side of the forum.
  • Options
    DIRTYRATDIRTYRAT Member Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Welcome here!