In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Bow for adult beginner

thunderstick82thunderstick82 Member Posts: 221 ✭✭✭
Any suggestions on a beginners bow? I have zero archery experience. I will most likely be buying used.

"Convenience is currently killing our world" -Me

Comments

• buckeyboybuckeyboy Member Posts: 5,833
    edited November -1
    Go to an archery shop or range and shoot several before you buy anything

Mathews1.gif
  • Slash0311Slash0311 Member Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Glad you found us Thunder. We're an odd bunch (just don't turn your back on the guys who shoot Mathews, there a little "funny" if you catch my drift)

Okay, I would check out your local shop and see what they have to offer. I would try and think of a budget and stick to it. Ask if the bow you are looking at has any accessories like a rest, stabilizer, or sights. I assume that you are looking for a compound and will be shooting some type of release? That's the part that you hold in your hand and works kind of like a trigger. Keep these accessories in mind as they can really start to add up fast. Major brands like HOYT, PSE, mathews[xx(], bowtech are expensive bows and can cost several hundred dollars new. That's why having a budget in mind will help. Buying a bow from a shop close to you will help because they should help set the bow to you. Your draw length and peep sight if you choose to use one. They should also be able to answer all of your questions and help get you started in the right direction. We're here to help too. Just remember what I said about those mathes guys, there jelious of us smarter Hoyt shooters.[:D] We have fun here but we're a good bunch and will help any way we can.

waco.gif
    Semper Fi!
  • buckeyboybuckeyboy Member Posts: 5,833
    edited November -1