In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Loading a Jukar 45 cal. ball and patch safley

William VWilliam V Member Posts: 2 ✭✭
I am not very experienced to BP so I would like to know what you guys think of my loading. I know to have the gun very clean and dirty barrel makes the ball hard to go down. What I do is center the patch on the top of the barrel. put the ball on it, them start it with a wood handle that has a dent to fit the ball in it. Then I take wood and shove it down flush to the top of the barrel. At this point the ball is very tight I take a 7/16 steel rod and cram it down about 6 inches. Then I know that friction equals heat and enough heat equals a potential lighting the charge. Well for that reason I do not shove it down quick.
I take the 7/16 rod and put it against something hard such as a tree and push the back of the riffle. The ball goes down and it is loaded.
The pressure needed to get it down is excessive and seems like something is not right. I use a pre lubed patch.
I shoot with 90 grains of FFG . The 7/16 rod is
steel. Anything else bends. It seems that the shape of the top of the ball is distorted from all the pressure. Does this
make it not very accurate? I have not shot it enough to get it zeroed in. It has been shooting so high it missed the target. Last shot was dead center in windage and 8 inches high in elevation at 50 yards.

Comments

• Options
    mongrel1776mongrel1776 Member Posts: 894 ✭✭
    edited November -1