In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

I need some help please.

phideaux4886phideaux4886 Member Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭✭✭
I have a client that I will be seeing on Monday and it turns out he sells CVA muzzle loaders.
I have been thinking of getting an entry level black powder for some time and I may get one for a decent price.
I have no knowledge of the modern guns, other than the basics. I can't recall even seeing one firsthand.
Is it cheaper shooting black powder, than shooting something similar in brass?
I would not want to buy something that would require special equipment to shoot, obviously realizing that there would be some things different in order to be able to shoot it.
Seems that I am seeing 50 caliber being the more popular choice.
I am trying to do some research this weekend so if anyone has an opinion or suggestion, I would appreciate hearing it.
Thanks,
DSM

Comments

• allen griggsallen griggs Member Posts: 35,183 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Is it cheaper shooting black powder, than shooting something similar in brass?

I don't understand the question.
    Do you want an inline or traditional?
  • phideaux4886phideaux4886 Member Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I do believe it would be inline.
    DSM
  • smokinggunsmokinggun Member Posts: 590 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I own a CVA Elkhorn magnum and it is a excellent rifle. It's not fancy at all but it is a extremely accurate rifle at a very fair price. CVA barrels are made in Spain are are some of the best. The same rifle made by Knight would have cost me quite a bit more. I hunt with mine and it can get expensive at the range but is very affordable for hunting deer. I use 45 cal Powerbelt bullets that cost around $1.00 per bullet and three 50 gr. pyrodex pellets which probably cost 50 cents per shot. Hope this helps.