In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Muzle loader gun (not web) site set-up question?

anderskandersk Member Posts: 3,627 ✭✭
I've been shooting BP for a few years now, but I'm still pretty much of a rooky. My first BP gun is a T/C Omega 50 and I love it. It is VERY reliable, but it just doesn't look like a BP gun! [:D] The men at our club are the more primitive type! [:I]

I'm left handed, and I'm going to be building a kit gun to get more into the whole thing!

I'm wondering ... what is the best site configuration for a gun that is going to be used mostly for target shooting and BP Shoots at our club? [?]

Should one consider a peep site basically for hunting? [?]

What do you think about the "Buckhorn" rear site? particularly for target shooting? [?]

Why is the rear site usually put such a long ways down the pipe! [?]

Is .50 calibre the best way to go? [?]

Given a choice between a 27" and a 32" barrel ... which would your choose? I'm thinking longer the better, right? [?]

Comments

• Options
    richbugrichbug Member Posts: 3,650
    edited November -1
    I like peep sight for everything. For hunting a blade front is good, for target I would use a Lyman #17 type with changeable centers if the club allows it.

The longer the barrel the longer the sight radius the more velocity(within reason).

I hate buckhorns they may look neat, but they are worthless for aiming.

My next gun will be a 40 or 45 with a 42" long 13/16" barrel. Nice and light with a long sight radius.
  • Options
    BlckhrnBlckhrn Member Posts: 5,136
    edited November -1
    I will never go anything but traditional. Get used to open sights and you should be able to punch out the x ring at 50 yards (round ball).

I prefer flintlocks, though I only have one now.