In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Wanting to buy 1874 Sharps "Quigley". Need advice.

void.pointervoid.pointer Member Posts: 22 ✭✭
Hi,

I'm not very experienced with guns, but ever since I saw Quigley Down Under, I always wanted his rifle. I recently found out about Shiloh Sharps, but the rifle they have runs over $4000, which is entirely too expensive for me.

I went to a local gun dealer and found out that he could get me the same replica for half as much, but made by Uberti. If you visit this link (http://www.cimarron-firearms.com/SingleShotRifles/PedSharps.htm), the second rifle from the top is the one they would order for me at $1995.

Is this a good quality replica? The local dealer said it could be available in a couple of days, 3-4 days. It's 45-110, but I was told that 45-70 was the only replica made by Uberti. Is this a scam? I was also told that 45-110 is more expensive and harder to find parts for, but I think the extra power would be awesome. I have never shot the 70 or the 110, so I want to make sure I won't have any regrets. Is there much of a kick difference between the 70 and 110 grain?

Anyway, I just need a little more information about the rifles and how it is manufactured. I not only want to make sure I'm getting a good deal and a very good quality rifle, but I also want to make sure this gun will never get boring. I plan to make this my "one and only", which is why I'm willing to put in the $2000 for it.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• 44caliberkid44caliberkid Member Posts: 925 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Since you are a novice shooter, the "Quigley Special" would be just fine. Do a search for Pedersoli Quigley's on this website and you'll probably find one for less yet. I've known shooters who have had Pedersolis and Shilohs and as far as shooting, there was no difference.