In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

loose balls

desertsubedesertsube Member Posts: 8 ✭✭
I have a tompson center arms black diamond 50 cal. I am new to muzzle loading and need some advice. I bought 490 50 cal ballsfrom hornady but they seem to go in to easy. Is this normal or should i goto a a bigger ball? Is there a bigger ball? Thank you, Dave

Comments

• oldgunneroldgunner Member Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Dave, do some research and studying first..Round balls require patches. If you're using conical bullets of some type, they need to be snug in the barrel. You must have received a manual with the rifle. It should tell you what you need. Don't jump into shooting without knowing how it's done safely, but DO learn and enjoy.
  • desertsubedesertsube Member Posts: 8 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I Did read manual and have read alot online and it says round balls with a patch should fit tightly. Im Not new at firearms just muzzleloaders. Anymore info would be great!
  • allen griggsallen griggs Member Posts: 35,183 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Do you know the rate of twist for your rifle. As I recall, the Black Diamond is an inline that is designed for conical slugs or sabots.
    Still it will shoot round balls, probably not as accurately as the other two loads.
    Yes there are different sized balls, there is a .495
    Also, the patches come in different thicknesses. Most rifles will use the .490 if you use the patch of the proper thickness. See what thickness your patch is and find a thicker one.
    The ball should be so tight that you need a short starter to get it into the bore, that is, you would be unable to start it with fingers or the palm of your hand.
    What kind of patch lube are you using?
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by allen griggs