In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

starter GUN???

bk_punisherbk_punisher Member Posts: 30 ✭✭
Ive been shooting since i was 10 years old. Reloading for about three years. I want to get started in black powder "rifles". Ive been told that black powder is dirty and requirs alot of cleaning. and one guy was telling me that if i get a gun i have to "COOK" the barrel in the stove for 15min or so.
My thing is i, want to get a gun 50 cal from Midway. NEF sidekick. I know its the cheapest but just till i get the hang of the whole system, then maybe a better more reliable one.
Any advice is wanted!!!

Comments

• Mort4570Mort4570 Member Posts: 472 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    bp is actually easy to clean up.water,soapy water,409,windex,there are a zillion ways.
    BUT..
    you must do it after EVERY time you shoot it,especially with real bp.It draws moisture,and will rust a barrel VERY fast.
    They sure are a hoot to shoot tho.
    shooting them accuartely is a lot of trial and error for the 'sweet spot load' of just the right kind and amount of powder,right thickness of patch,etc.
    but heck, it must mean ya get to shoot it alot while you learnd.:)
  • rja72rja72 Member Posts: 141 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    What are you wanting to do with the gun? Hunt or target?

I have a Cabela's Hawken 50 cal percusion I going to deer hunt with this year. It is more expensive than the NEF you are looking at or other entry level in-lines. I did not want an in-line. I wanted something more traditional.