In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

BULLETS AND PELLETS FOR T/C OMEGA

GONAVY17GONAVY17 Member Posts: 4 ✭✭
Hello. I am new to muzzleloaders and don't have a clue the type of round (sabot, ball, grain of bullet, etc) and pellets/powder to use. Can anyone tell me what they believe are the best type of bullets and pellets/powder to shoot out of a T/C Omega .50Cal for deer hunting? Thanks

Comments

• anderskandersk Member Posts: 3,627 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    For the last three yease I have been shooting a T/C Omega 50, and she is one sweet gun. The twist if too fast for round ball. I shoot them to be sporting at BP Shoots, but they are a bit un predictable. It was made for conicals and especially for sabots. I'm trying both and having some fun experimenting.
  • GONAVY17GONAVY17 Member Posts: 4 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I appreciate the information. I'm looking for any recommendations as far as type, brand and weight, pellets and/or powder and how many grains 100 or 150? Thanks for any and all info.
  • allen griggsallen griggs Member Posts: 35,183 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I know a guy who uses 85 grains of 777 powder and the 245 grain Barnes Spitfire in the Omega. He killed an 8 pointer at 205 yards with this load.
    If you decide to shoot 777, be sure to get the new Winchester 777 primers. You will get fouling in the barrel just ahead of where the sabot sets unless you use these primers.
    If you use black powder, or Pyrodex, you can use any primer.
    If you use bp or Pyrodex, go up to 90 or 95 grains.
    Good luck! You have one of the best inlines ever made.
  • 11b6r11b6r Member Posts: 16,588 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Just a thought- why not check with Thompson?
  • GONAVY17GONAVY17 Member Posts: 4 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Thanks Allen.