In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Can you take two muzzle loaders hunting?

anderskandersk Member Posts: 3,627 ✭✭
Here in Massachusetts we can only hunt with muzzle loaders. [V] (Oh, yes, there is a two week shotgun season, too).

Since I'm kind of new to BP guns, my follow-up shot would not be too quick! Is there any reason why one could not take a second gun and while hunting in a stand, just have in handy in case you need a follow up shot?

Just wondering? [?]

Comments

• allen griggsallen griggs Member Posts: 35,183 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    That is an interesting question, which I have never heard asked.
    If two guns are illegal, I have never heard of it.
    I did carry a pistol into the stand with me a few times, along with the rifle, in case I got a close shot on a small deer. Never got the chance to use it.

I would say, it would be a real pain in the * to lug two rifles around. Better to practice a lot and make sure that the first shot counts!
  • anderskandersk Member Posts: 3,627 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Yes, I'm for the practicing a lot part! I was over at the range for a few hours this afternoon!

I have a doe permit and the regular deer permit ... what if I saw two deer at the same time? Just wondering? [?]
  • mongrel1776mongrel1776 Member Posts: 894 ✭✭
    edited November -1