In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Or should I leave it rest

likemhotlikemhot Member Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭
This old shooter currently resides by my dad's fireplace, I have no info on it other than it was given to him over 50 years ago. All parties that would have any knowledge are long since deceased and dad has had a stroke.

It is stamped on the right side in front of the hammer E. WHITNEY. There are no other markings that I can find and I have looked everywhere, including taking it apart as far as I trust myself, without doing damage. I have very little knowledge of period black powder firearms.

It looks to be military, bayonet lug on the right front muzzle, and yes it is in rough condition.

Any help on the history of this piece would be appreciated, also is this gun worth trying to get back in working condition. I have mentioned it to several re-enacters at my gun club and they are certain it is worth the effort.

Or should I leave it rest

IM001010-1.jpg

IM001011.jpg

IM001012.jpg

IM001013-1.jpg

IM001014.jpg

IM001015.jpg

IM001016.jpg

IM001018.jpg

IM001019.jpg

IM001020.jpg

IM001021.jpg

IM001022.jpg

IM001023.jpg

IM001024.jpg

IM001025.jpg

IM001026.jpg

IM001027.jpg

Comments

• amsptcdsamsptcds Member Posts: 679
    edited November -1
    I would get the barrel magnafluxed to look for cracks. If it is okay, then I would clean it and try to shoot it.
  • oldgunneroldgunner Member Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    You might also want to make sure the nipple is well threaded and not loose. She's a pretty simple old musket, and should be fine to shoot if the barrel and nipple are both ok.

I hope you follow up and let us know how it goes.
  • ahanksterahankster Member Posts: 253 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1