In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Musket caps vs. #11 percussion caps

dannejdannej Member Posts: 478 ✭✭✭
It appears musket caps are legal in Washington now. I have a Lyman rifle and Lyman recommends that you NOT use musket caps on the percussion cap rifles. I have found replacement nipples that take musket caps.

1. Are musket caps that much hotter, hense, more reliable?

2. Any idea why Lyman discourages their use?

Thanks!
Dan

Comments

• hillbillehillbille Member Posts: 14,119 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    not sure why they would, if like me and have old fat fingers go with the musket caps, they are much easier to put on and take off, I can't see where they would be so much hotter to cause any serious safety issues, it may just be a lawyer/legal issue of being over cautious... though I am no expert, I have a few things the manufacturers say you shouldn't, if there are replacement nipples available, I would say whoever makes them must feel they are safe to use.
  • dannejdannej Member Posts: 478 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Very well put! I thought about the lawyer side for Lyman, but didn't think about the manufacturer of the replacement nipples. Thank you very much!
  • hillbillehillbille Member Posts: 14,119 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    dannej I have used the musket caps, I don't know how much "hotter" they really are, the only thing you may watch out for is the new nipple itself, the hole in it will be slightly larger by a few thousandsth, there may be a little more blowback from the shot itself, make sure to wear eye protection just in case. personaly I swapped over a thompson renegade to musket caps, and also an old double barrell shotgun, didn't have trouble with either, but you never know.
  • dannejdannej Member Posts: 478 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Thank you. Good to know...