In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

1860 Army revolver

LARRY48LARRY48 Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
I have a CVA 1860 Army that puzzles me. I cannot get it to shoot consistently. If I always load the same port in the cylinder it will shoot to the same point of aim. But when I load the entire cylinder, all 5 or 6 holes it will shoot on and off the paper at 25 yards. I use .454 RB and 20-30 grain FFFG. Is thsi normal? What could be the causes?
Thanks

Comments

• photogroupphotogroup Member Posts: 7 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I'm not an expert, but it sounds like the cylinder isn't bored exactly the same for each position, or the cylinder isn't locking up the same for each position. Is there any play in the cylinder rotationally when the hammer is all the way back?
    CVA isn't real high quality stuff sometimes. I wouldn't be surprised if this was a problem with their revolvers on a regular basis.
  • spasmcreekspasmcreek Member Posts: 37,724 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    simple check is a dowel(METAL, PLASTIC, ???) with a flat cut end that just slips down barrel...with proper indexing the dowel should slide into the cylinder in each chamber with catching the end
  • LARRY48LARRY48 Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
    edited November -1