In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

.357 vs .44 mag?

dennbidennbi Member Posts: 9 ✭✭
I am new to getting into cowboy shooting and don't have a lot of money for a lever action rifle. I have .357 pistols but .357 lever actions are more than .44mag lever action and I could occasionally use the 44mag lever to hunt with, but the 44 ammo is twice as expensive and I do not reload.Is there a better reason for one over the other aside from the cost of the ammo?
Also I like a 24" barrel, would that be too long for cowboy shooting?
I think 24" would be better for hunting if I just had one rifle to do both?
Thanks
DB

Comments

• 44caliberkid44caliberkid Member Posts: 925 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    A .357 lever action rifle shouldn't be more than a 44 mag rifle, if all other things are equal. You need to shop around more. If you don't reload, then you could use relatively inexpensive lead bullet 38 special reloads for cowboy shooting and a premium high performance 357 ammo, like Winchester Supreme or Federal, for hunting. They will certainly kill deer.
  • dennbidennbi Member Posts: 9 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Thanks for the advice 44caliper kid
    DB
  • wpagewpage Member Posts: 10,204 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    What are you planning to hunt?
  • TfloggerTflogger Member Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Finding a .357 mag rifle is tough in my neck of the woods. Prices are up and you can find .44s cheaper.
    Since I have a a$$load of 38 and 357 brass, I prefer the .357 rifle.
    They cost $100 more here in western NY.
  • MobuckMobuck Member Posts: 13,733 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I doubt a 24" barrel will help much except for a longer sight radius. Most factory loads are designed for handgun use and the extra barrel length won't gain much or maybe even lower velocities.