In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

muzzleloader tips

mossberg500manmossberg500man Member Posts: 833 ✭✭✭✭
I bought my first muzzleloader recently. It is an older knight. I wanted to know If You guys have any tips as to the cleaning and care of my muzzle loader. I am planning on takeing it out to shoot this weekend and get a feel for it before I take it hunting.

Comments

• mossberg500manmossberg500man Member Posts: 833 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Im completely new to the muzzleloading game i got a tc impact for my birthday and in looking for tips on a little bit of everything, thanks
  • navc130navc130 Member Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Read the Owners Manual. Read it again. Know the safety precautions of handeling black powder / subsitutes and muzzle loading rifles. Make sure the bullet is down all the way on top of the powder. Clean the rifle by the end of the day's shooting to prevent corrosion developing. You do not need maximum loads for deer hunting and target shooting. There are good books on shooting muzzle loaders.
  • anderskandersk Member Posts: 3,627 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Find and join a Muzzle loader club near you and learn all you can from folks with lots of experience. Worked for me!
  • andrewsw16andrewsw16 Member Posts: 10,728 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    You will almost always find your most accurate load is NOT your maximum power load. That is good news for both your pocket book and your shoulder. [:D]
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by andrewsw16
    You will almost always find your most accurate load is NOT your maximum power load. That is good news for both your pocket book and your shoulder. [:D]
    ahhh ok [:D]
  • Okie743Okie743 Member Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by andrewsw16