In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Colt Vs. Uberti..... Class is in Session!

odenthevikingodentheviking Member Posts: 523 ✭✭✭
Hello All and Happy New Year!!!!

I would love to open up a class here to "fact-find" as much as we can about the connection between the Colt 2nd and 3rd Generation BP pistols and the Uberti reproduction BP pistols made in Italy. I have to admit I am no expert on the matter but back in the 1970's American Civil War Re-enacting was really taking off, and many folks were getting Italian made pistol kits to use. When they would screw up and return the kits in pieces, I would buy the bad kits from the dist. for $20 and try and put them together and resell them/ trade for gear. Over the years I worked on all the brands/makers and found that Colt and Uberti parts were the same,(many re-enactors/living historians use the Colts because they are stamped/marked as the originals but the NPS will not allow original guns in their Parks!).

In my recent research I have found many folks/personnel accounts stating that Uberti parts were used,(and by "Used" I mean refit, refinished, finetuned, made pretty, etc...), to build the Colt Sig Ser line. The only real "proof" I could find was this old G&A article:
http://archives.gunsandammo.com/content/cap--ball-resurrection
and a part interview with Lou Imperato of U.S. Iver Johnson Arms. In short, the article and Lou state that the very first Colt 2nd Gen's, the "C" ser's Mdl 1851 Navy only, were parts from Italy, fit, finished, and assembled by Colt. But after that the "F" ser's and all the 3rd Gen. were done by outside contractors using No Colt tools, employees, equipment, etc.... And the finished product was sent to Colt for final inspection.

Can anyone backup or shoot down any of this information?