In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Tomahawks and knives

anderskandersk Member Posts: 3,627 ✭✭
I've been shooting muzzle loaders for 11 years now. Out at our BP club some of the guys have been throwing tomahawks and knives for years, but I'm just getting into it. Lots of fun! Next thing you know ... I'll be starting fires in 15 seconds. Then I could become a real menace to society!

Comments

• anderskandersk Member Posts: 3,627 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Just kind of wondering what others are thinking of these kind of "primitive activities"?
  • spasmcreekspasmcreek Member Posts: 37,724 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    kids earn merit badges for these activities....if they are not to busy attending sensitivity training for their new recruits
    edited November -1
    Well, that could settle it ... I'm just a big kid! But I do have to say that throwing the tomahawks is a lot of fun. Just no bang or smoke!
  • Chief ShawayChief Shaway Member, Moderator Posts: 6,196 ******
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by andersk
    Just kind of wondering what others are thinking of these kind of "primitive activities"?

I have pretty much quit going to rendezvous quite a few years ago.
    But, I can still get fire with flint an steel in under 10 seconds, set a double spring beaver trap in under 5 seconds.
    I was never the best with knife but, enjoyed tomahawk handle matches. That is where you have a group, and you take turns going first. First guy throws then, the rest aim for his handle. [:D]
    I started out at age 13 at rendezvous.
    Progressed to F&I reenacting by 17.
    The skills I learned at our local club in Central Il. have served me very well.
    Enjoy the heck out of your new found skills
    edited November -1