In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Black powder choices

lee shermanlee sherman Member Posts: 405 ✭✭✭
I am new to black powder but not firearms. I may be interested in using 30 grain pellets in my Remington 1858 New Army. I hear negative comments about the pellets. 1. By weight they are more $ than loose powder. 2. Inconsistant energy release. 3. They don't burn as clean as say Pyrodex. You guys have already figured this all out. Any suggestions would of course be much appreciated. Thanks in advance. Lee[?]

Comments

• Options
    hillbillehillbille Member Posts: 14,169 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I would personally never use them, let alone in a pistol. I'm not sure you can get enough spark to light the pellets from the pistol, as they can be finicky. Save yourself some headaches and get loose, black powder preferably, if not try pyrodex..
  • Options
    Gunny0321Gunny0321 Member Posts: 25 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Lee, I am a huge porponent of shooting Black Powder in black Powder firearms. I mean the real stuff and not the Fake powders. I also realize that a lot of you guys cannot find real BP and have to use the Substitute's -- You Think.

BP is readily available here on the net. You can order it mail order and the big Brown truck (UPS) will deliver it to your door. Most of the Powder Co's that deal in BP do have a minimun order and that usually is as low as 5 lbs. You will have to pay a Hazmet Fee of $25.00 but you have to do that with smokeless as well. I shoot a lot of Black Powder and always order mine by the case which is 25 lbs I pay the same $25.00 Hazmet.