In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Sighting in Burris scope on 270 Remington WSM

7lazy777lazy77 Member Posts: 47 ✭✭
edited December 2008 in Ask the Experts
I just got a new Remington 270 WSM along with a Burris Fullfield II 3x9x40 scope. This is my first rifle with a scope & I am trying to get some helpful hints at sighting in since I have never done before. I have read the instructions & gathered some information from the salesperson, so this is where I am at.....
I am going to zero it in at 200 yds.
I will be shooting the Winchester 130 grain ballistic round.
Will I be able to shoot out from 50 yards & would this be pretty close to zero at 200 yds? Sorry to sound like an idiot, but like I said, I have never sighted one in before & I am looking for ANY helpful suggestions.
Thanks

Comments

• perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    In the old days in the military We would zero at 1000 inches. with iron sights and this would get us close at 100 yards. Remember with a scoped rifle The line of sight is a straight line but the bullet flight is an arc. on top of this the line of sight starts out at about 1.5 inches above the bore line. depending on what kind of scope mounts. So with that said the point of impact will be exactly the same as the line of sight TWO TIMES once as it crosses from below the line of sight and once as the arc takes the bullet flight down and it crosses on the downward part of it's flight I would think that a ZERO at 50 yards would be slightly low at 200 yards. Better to zero at the longest range possible but zero at 50 yards should be Minute of Deer at 200 yards.
  • 7lazy777lazy77 Member Posts: 47 ✭✭
    edited November -1