In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Question about 22 autos. . .which one?

beantownshootahbeantownshootah Member Posts: 12,776 ✭✭✭
edited August 2004 in Ask the Experts
Hi all.

I'm a shooting novice, and I am looking for some advice and opinions on .22 automatic pistols. I am interested in mainly indoor bullseye shooting, with an eye towards developing myself towards competition. Maybe once in a blue moon said pistol might get used for plinking or shooting pests.

Anyway, I have some experience with the S&W 41, and the Rugers MkII and 22/45, but I have never tried any of the many others out there (Browning, Colt, Beretta, lower-end Smiths, etc).

Any that a lot of people like? Any secret gems or ones that give more "bang" for the buck? Any that really stand out in other ways? Are they all pretty much the same? Any that are really poor?

Also, is it necessary to have a match pistol to be competitive? (I'm not talking the Olympics here!). Is a good revolver even worthy of consideration? I saw an ad somewhere on this site for a Ruger Olympics pistol. . .is that a misnomer or do serious competitors actually use something like that model? (I figure the Ruger probably costs half what the Smith does. . .that's a lot of extra practice ammo!).

Anyway, any opinions, anecdotes, advice, or other musings would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, and I'm looking forward to an interesting thread.

Comments

• Salvage33Salvage33 Member Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    IF you can find one of the old High Standard's you will find it to be one of the best functioning/shooting 22 auto pistols ever made. If my memory serves me correctly, they made an "Olympic" model. Heavy barrel, adjustable sights, and from all accounts, a dream to shoot.

They are not easy to find, and if you find one, they will not be inexpensive.

John