In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

"Pinned" AR uppers

MartyEGVboyMartyEGVboy Member Posts: 146 ✭✭✭
edited May 2014 in Ask the Experts
I'm wanting to Frankenstein an AR together (I have the lower already) and I'm looking at PSA at their uppers and came across this in several listings:

"This upper is not pinned and welded, all NFA rules apply"

What exactly does that mean? Not all the ads are listed that way. Does this defray some cost to PSA (less labor fewer dollars)?

I'm a total newb to AR stuff (funny how that rhymes with boob)...

Comments

• TANK78ZTANK78Z Member Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    with out more info or a better description, more then likely they are referring to the flash hider,and/or a short under 16" barrel which would make it a pistol only build or a rifle that will need a federal tax stamp in those states that allow possession of short barreled rifles.
  • MartyEGVboyMartyEGVboy Member Posts: 146 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Thanks. I hadn't noticed that that applied to those 14.7 barrels uppers (and shorter, I'm sure).

So what's pinned and what's welded? For my edification -- I'm looking at 16" barreled uppers (I let the price [$319] drag my eyes away from the length spec) [:I]

Here's the link for the curious:
    http://palmettostatearmory.com/index.php/ar-15-05/barreled-upper-assemblies.html
  • Horse Plains DrifterHorse Plains Drifter Forums Admins, Member, Moderator Posts: 39,306 ***** Forums Admin
    edited November -1
    Pinned and welded, means the flash supressor is permemently installed by pinning and welding. This allows the flash supressor to be considered part of the barrel, making the barrel lenght 16" or more, so it no longer falls under NFA rules.
  • beantownshootahbeantownshootah Member Posts: 12,776 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1