In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Tiffany Colt Part 2

altnuttaltnutt Member Posts: 80
edited October 2011 in Ask the Experts
Spider7115 -

The picture you posted is the same gun I saw. The engraving is high quality like you posted. I saw these guns for only five minutes and tried to snap quick pictures. Do you know of fake colts like this one, with the same design?

I guess I could send a letter request to Colt and wait six months...
Seller wants $55,000 for the pair.

I agree they should be authenticated first. I am interested in what some of you think as far as if they appear genuine. I have no experience in what a phony one would like like. If they are phony they are absolutley beautiful fakes and still look museum quality.

Comments

• kimikimi Member Posts: 44,723 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Go online and make contact with Greg Martin and James D. Julia:

http://historical.ha.com/ArmsArmor/

http://jamesdjulia.com/
    What's next?
  • Spider7115Spider7115 Member, Moderator Posts: 29,714 ******
    edited November -1
    $55,000 is an excellent price IF they are genuine Tiffany Colts. Yes, I've seen fakes that were very well done so these warrant further investigation.

With a set like that, I would think the owner would know something about them as they're certainly not common. If genuine, they would have belonged to someone of prominence and wealth.

I believe Colt will give you historical information over the phone for an extra fee & a credit card and then send you a historical letter. If you're thinking of buying these, it's well worth the investment. Please keep us informed as to what you found out.
  • givettegivette Member Posts: 10,886
    edited November -1
    Yeh. The telephone eval from Colt is a must to get you started!