In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Bore condition

Rex MahanRex Mahan Member Posts: 529 ✭✭
edited June 2013 in Ask the Experts
Ive been collecting Winchesters for a few years now. For most of that time, I just put a light at one end and looked for a shine and rifling. I did notice some had a better shine than others, and knew that meant that one was not as good as the other.
Of course some were just bad and youd have to be blind not to see it.
Now I have purchased a bore scope from Hawkeye. For me that changed a lot of perspectives. Several guns I used to think were really nice dont have as good a bore as I thought. They shined and had good rifling, but lots of pits. Some worse than others.
My real question isL Some people are able to identify what I see without a scope. When some sellers say mint bore they know it is. What do they see?

I know for some the bores only need to be shootable and for others, some collects see guns as Collector pieces and not shooter. I like to shoot mine and prefer the best bore possible.

Thanks

Comments

• navc130navc130 Member Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I learned that I could not really see a bore's condition without a magnifying glass. Of course, a borescope is much better. As you said, a shiny bore is not necessarily a good, smooth, clean bore.
  • rufe-snowrufe-snow Member Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The only way to really tell the actual condition, is a bore scope as you have noted.

Without a scope all folks could do in the past, is situate a diffused light source at the chamber end of the barrel. This would indicate the condition of the barrel, to a reasonably knowledgeable individual.

Don't agree they could ascertain if there was very fine pitting/roughness in the interior of the barrel, without a scope.