In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Colt - Remington Rand 45 ACP

coltnutzcoltnutz Member Posts: 206 ✭✭
edited June 2010 in Ask the Experts
I am starting to do some research on a Colt - Remington Rand 45 auto. I have zero knowledge on these. I realize that there may be too many variations to respond but being pointed in the right direction would be appreciated.

I received a call from an acquaintance who claims to have a Remington Rand auto 45.and they want to sell it. At this point, I have not seen the gun yet and don't have the luxury of having it in my hand or pictures.

The seller tells me that some of the markings are:

Interarms
Alexandria Virginia
80 1755 (or S0 1755)

Based on some of these markings, can someone point me in the right direction of my search or what gun we have here?

It sounds like it has the parkerized finish, comes with several mags, holster and two sets of grips - walnut and black plastic. The owner thinks that black plastic grips are the originals but is not certain. Any comments about the grips are welcomed. The condition supposedly is very good with one side of the gun showing evidence of very light pitting.

Stupid question: Would this gun be marked "Remington Rand" somewhere or how does one know it is a Remington Rand?

Based on what I know about the owner, I don't think that this gun has been "around the block" at gun shows and the like, I think he got it from the original owner.

At this point, I do not have the luxury of putting this gun in my hand or pictures.

Any help is appreciated as to what series it may be, value range and any reading material I should find.

Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    USN_AirdaleUSN_Airdale Member Posts: 2,987
    edited November -1
    here is a good start,

http://www.sightm1911.com/lib/history/remingtons.htm