In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

M1911 A1

pawulspawuls Member Posts: 5 ✭✭
edited March 2016 in Ask the Experts
Hello,

I'm looking into listing the following pistol on the site for sale and would appreciate your good council since I am offering on behalf of my family. We lost my father late last year, none of us are gun collectors but recognize we need to pass this along to a new home, want to realize a fair return for the family, and want to, of course, avoid that it fall into the wrong hands. I am a novice, and intend to do my due diligence on the proper and legal path to do this.

I recognize that I'm not a retail seller and don't expect to realize that value, but would like to list the gun (and accessories) at a price that while pleasing a buyer will also help the family some. My father was in the Air Force, a fine man. I never saw him take the gun out of the closet, and I suspect he only used it while training to serve in the Korean War.

From what I can gather from my limited research, it appears to be made up of both Colt and Remington Rand parts. The slide indicates Colt while the frame and serial number indicate Remington Rand.

Thanks in advance for any guidance. Again, my intention is to 1) realize the best price for the family while 2) understanding it must be sold without the expertise of a dealer, and 3) making sure to my best ability that it does not find its way to criminal hands.

Note, I have not done any cleaning to the gun.

1911a_zpskmrl7cce.jpg

1911b_zpsi2ge1pbm.jpg

1911d_zpsmsvelryo.jpg

1911e_zpsxkwpz8th.jpg

1911c_zps0osm0ztl.jpg

Comments

• rufe-snowrufe-snow Member Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1