In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

old school scope vs. red dot style

trolleytrouttrolleytrout Member Posts: 49 ✭✭
edited March 2012 in Ask the Experts
I have plenty of experience with the old school rifles and scopes but none with the new ar-15 style rifles. How well will a conventional old school tubuliar style gun scope hold up, mounted on an ar-15 as compared to say an Eotech red dot sight , Aimpoint or Burris?
Not that I'm going to abuse the rifle but just from the schock of shooting many rounds at a time.

Comments

• catpealer111catpealer111 Member Posts: 10,695
    edited November -1
    A "normal" scope holds up just fine. A semi-auto AR doesn't shoot any faster than any other semi and they also have a very light recoil. Mount up and enjoy.
  • perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    old school scope will hold up to any 223 recoil . however you will need the right type uper on your AR to mount a scope and get correct eye relief . Unless you are in love with the BLING / TACTICAL look in my opinion there are much better choices then EOTECH for most types of shooting.
  • MobuckMobuck Member Posts: 13,733 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The common red dot sights severely limit the range capability of the AR unless the shooter has good eyesight. I'm 60ish and need a little magnification for target ID and more precise aiming so my choice is a low power variable on carbines and 3-9x on 20" barrelled AR's.
    I consider my limit at about 150 yards with a good red dot. At that range with a 4MOA dot, most any AR will keep all it's bullets on the dot which is fine unless you're shooting at prairie dogs.
  • rufe-snowrufe-snow Member Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by Mobuck