In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Japanese Arista Rifles?

sig232sig232 Member Posts: 8,018
edited September 2006 in General Discussion
I cannot find these in Fjestad's Blue Book of Gun Values, 25 edition.

Anyone know anything about them?

Comments

• p3skykingp3skyking Member Posts: 25,750
    edited November -1
    Yeah, I'm an expert on them. Look under Japanese Military in Blue Book.
  • Tailgunner1954Tailgunner1954 Member Posts: 7,734 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    It's spelled Arasaka
  • sig232sig232 Member Posts: 8,018
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by p3skyking
    Yeah, I'm an expert on them. Look under Japanese Military in Blue Book.

I may get a chance to look at the rifle closer today and I will follow your advice and get more info on where it was produced and when. I was told the year but also wonder how they figured it out since I don't believe any of them spead anything other that English and German.

I will repost as soon as I get the data and take a quick look down the bore. Thanks for your help on the expert forum.
  • 1911a1-fan1911a1-fan Member Posts: 51,193 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    try arisaki also

what is it you need to know, most here can tell you what they actually sell for, and what is most desired in them, i myself find that better than a book
  • hughbetchahughbetcha Member Posts: 7,801 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I think it's Arisaka. Japanese rifles are also known by year of introduction Type 99, type 37 etc.

The Arisaka is a very strong bolt action design, pretty ugly and often crudely finished due to wartime production shortages. Japanese were the first to use chromium lining on bores of their rifles to reduce corrosion.