In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

buying guns online...

espo28espo28 Member Posts: 44 ✭✭
edited May 2006 in General Discussion
Hello all, I'm very familiar with eline purchases on ebay etc, but am a rank novice here. Tell me, is it as easy as it sounds to purchase a handgun online? Are there any problems with finding a licenced dealer to handle the turnover in the purchasers home state?

And how much do the dealers charge for a service like this?

Just curious, your opinions and suggestions are very welcome.

Comments

• scottm21166scottm21166 Member Posts: 20,723
    edited November -1
    it's easy to buy them from me....[:D]I hear the other guys make it a BIG PITA[:D]
  • kristovkristov Member Posts: 6,633
    edited November -1
    Before you get too involved you should line up your transfer dealer and find out EXACTLY what his fees are going to be, sales tax issues (if any) and whether or not he will accept shippments from any non dealers who's auctions you may participate in. Too many guys have posted here about all sorts of problems with their dealers after the fact.
  • D.S.COLED.S.COLE Member Posts: 611 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    kristov has got it right. you need to talk to your local dealer if you have one or find one and get it all in place before you bid. this will save you and the seller a lot of time and headache.
    We receive guns, bought online, for our customers all the time.
    our normal fee is $25.00 to receive and do the transfer.
    the laws vary a great deal from state to state ,a knowledgeable dealer where you live can tell you a lot about what you need to know.
  • JamesRKJamesRK Member Posts: 25,670 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Use this link and enter your zip code for a list of dealers in your area who are registered with GunBroker.