In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Damn TAXES ??? Double Damn TAXES ?? (rant)

JamesRKJamesRK Member Posts: 25,670 ✭✭✭
edited May 2007 in General Discussion
When I started drawing my free money (social security), I did the IRS worksheet for two or three years to see if I had to pay income tax on my SSA benefits. It always turned out I didn't have to pay tax on my free money, so I stopped doing the worksheet.

This year it turned out I should have done the worksheet because I got a letter from the Feds telling me my "Adjusted Gross Income" was grosser than I thought it was so my tax liability was more than I thought it was. Since the IRS motto is "Pay up or go to jail", the Feds got their pound of flesh but that wasn't the end of it.

Virginia Income Tax is based on Federal Adjusted Gross Income. So, naturally, I had to do an Amended Virginia Income Tax Return. I did my original Virginia return online, so I have all the bottom line numbers, but I don't really know how they were computed. I got the instructions and forms from the Commissioner of the Revenue and set out to do an amended return. You can't do an amended return online.

Virginia has an Old Folks Tax Credit. You get an extra deduction just for being old. The maximum credit is $12,000.00. Some people get the full $12,000.00, some people get none of it, and some people get part of it. Naturally, they have a !!!WORKSHEET!!! to figure out which one you are. One line on the WORKSHEET tells me to enter my FDC addition if applicable. One line tells me to enter my FDC subtraction if applicable. I never did find out which if either was applicable because I couldn't find out what the hell an FDC is.