In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Need a new laptop

bambambambambambam Member Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭
edited July 2012 in General Discussion
Anyone have one they could recomend? I'm looking for something in the $700-$900 area.

I've looked in 3-4 places know for computer sales but I don't know what's a good brand/ model anymore.

Need something w/ 17.3" screen or larger, webcam/microphone , need 4 USB(2.0 or 3.0), card reader,

I was looking at some with 6-8GB of Memory & 750GB-1TB HDD.

Thanks.

Comments

• cbxjeffcbxjeff Member Posts: 17,401 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    At that price range you have a lot to choose from. I have been buying H-P for the last 5 years but also have one Gateway & Dell. All have served me & my friends well. I would rate the Dell last on my list of the three.
    It's too late for me, save yourself.
  • dheffleydheffley Member Posts: 25,000
    edited November -1
    Will have to be a 64 bit to use that much RAM, and I strongly recommend the Dell Precision (Mobile Workstation) series. You can pick up a used M6400 or an M4400 fairly cheaply. The M series are the workstations. The E and I series are the standard laptops.
  • Tech141Tech141 Member Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Toshiba Satellite. Have had three so far. One survived Afghanistan. Won't buy any other ....
  • bambambambambambam Member Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by Tech141
    Toshiba Satellite. Have had three so far. One survived Afghanistan. Won't buy any other ....

I saw those Satellite models. Whats with them? Do they have sat. internet or is it just a name?
  • enforcinatorenforcinator Member Posts: 232 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1