In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

6.5x.257

AmbroseAmbrose Member Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭✭
This is the old wildcat conversion for the bring-back Jap rifles. I have recently (inadvertently) acquired one. Loading data is hard to find. COTW mentions it in the 6.5 Jap section but does not cover it in the wildcat section. There is one load mentioned in the book on cartridge conversions but that's all I've found so far. I have a lot of reference materiel that goes back quite far but haven't found anything yet. In the 1950's and 60's this was a common cartridge; I'm surprised there isn't more out there on it.

I've been hand-loading since 1958 and know the drill so I'm not afraid to do the low and work up routine so I'll probably start with low-end 6.5 Creedmore data and see how it goes but it would be nice to have data for comparison.

Comments

• charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Google "6.5x.257 jap loading data" likely the same boat as the 25 Krag.

I'll look in my PO books later.

https://forums.GunBroker.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=383016
  • nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Ambrose,

Use the link Charlie supplied as it will get you started and aimed in the right direction.

I just checked a couple of search engines by using "6.5x257 JAP reloading data". Lots of information using those words.

Best.
  • AmbroseAmbrose Member Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Thank you, gentlemen, you've been very helpful.

With more digging, I did find data in an old, worn Lyman manual from the early 1950's. (The cover is missing so I'm not sure of the date it was published but it has the .308 in it so it must be post 1952.)
  • MIKE WISKEYMIKE WISKEY Member, Moderator Posts: 9,961 ******
    edited November -1
    same as the 6.5x57mm