In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Neck turning tool

bandcollectorbandcollector Member Posts: 218 ✭✭✭
I?ll start with a little background. I recently had a 6.5 wsm built on a model 70. I have been reloading for most of my life and I am not a beginer however this is my first time having to neck turn. When necking down 270 wsm brass for this 6.5 I just don?t have the clearance needed without turning. I anticipated this and purchased a hornady neck turn tool. I don?t want to make this about complaining so all I will say is that I returned the first one and when I received the replacement it has the same issue. Both had a severe amount of runout. So severe that when you tuned your brass if you finished and then loosened the brass in the shell holder and turned it slightly then retightened it it would then begin cutting on one side of the neck again. So this tool is not what I need.
My question is now that the hornady tool isn?t an option what neck turn tool do you guys reccomend. I have did several internet searches and there are several options. I just don?t want to make the same mistake I did the first time also it seems that most other options require purchasing multiple parts separate. I just wanted to hear from the experts.

Wow thanks for the heads up on the brass. I searched because would like property headsramed brass and came up with nothing. I might still have to turn though the reamer my smith used has a very tight neck.

Comments

• charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Very interesting. I have one like this https://www.brownells.com/reloading/case-preparation/neck-turning/neck-turning-tools/nt-1000-standard-neck-turning-tool-prod36849.aspx.

What about inside reaming. I'd bet you could do a decimal drill with a bushing in your full length sizing die.