In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Any glider pilots out there?

RedlegRedleg Member Posts: 417 ✭✭✭
edited March 2002 in General Discussion
My wife and I are going to start into the sport. We would like to know how much it's going to cost, assuming that neither of us has any flying experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!Brian

Comments

• Lew99Lew99 Member Posts: 9 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I am a fixed wing pilot, Single Engine Land certificate. The only cost estimate I can give you is based on that. I spent 50 flight hours, 25 solo and 25 dual, to obtain my certificate. That along with all the gear came to about $3000.00, but that was in 1992. I would expect the same training and equipment today to cost $4000.00. Go to glider flight schools in your area, talk to the people there. You should be able to get curtious accurate answers to any question from the people running the school. If you can't, FIND ANOTHER SCHOOL! What you are about to do has a potential for life ending accidents if you are improperly trained or fail to use the proper techniques after your training.Flying of any kind is a wonderful experience and is something I truely love to do, but be careful about who and where you train.Good luck and happy soaring.
  • v35v35 Member Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Take some rides first. Someone might not like it. My wife got sick and that was the end of that. She was my copilot/ navigator for over 20 years.
  • gruntledgruntled Member Posts: 8,218 ✭✭
    edited November -1