In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Reason For Taped Joints

dav1965dav1965 Member Posts: 26,543 ✭✭✭
edited September 2016 in General Discussion
1st the reason i made all my electricians tape wire nuts is because i was a contractor for Cummins.

Our company was charged 1348 dollars a minute for every minute that we caused down time.

I had a rule no joints to anything that could cause down time. The only thing that could have a joint in it was vending machines and fans.

I had someone install a receptacle that went to a computer that ran a machine and they just went in and tapped into the first 110 junction box.

Well some one was using a core drill to regular power and tripped out a breaker and the line went down.

I know which breaker panels are for building use and which panels are for machine use.

I go to the box that it was labeled too and took off the cover panel to the breakers. None were tripped so i took a volt meter to each breaker to make sure that it was not really tripped. When they trip most of the time you will see a red line on the breaker sometime you dont.

So now i go to where the problem is and follow the conduit to see where it went. About 200 feet away it goes to a junction box i run get a lift so i can open the box.

When i open it up 2 or 3 stands of a hot wire (THHN) touched the box and kicked the breaker. It cost the company that i worked for over 50,000 dollars.

That is why every wire nut is taped from the wire to the nut.

It is my fault they said because i was the leed electrician and should have never let it happen. I had to have a meeting with the plant manager of Cummins, my manager and my companys plant manager to explain how this would never happen again.