In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Whats the best round for a carry gun?

SeanEric7SeanEric7 Member Posts: 8 ✭✭
edited February 2003 in General Discussion
I am new to guns, I am 28
Gunbroker Rules!... by-the-way

I have a new 9mm I am super fond of, I am thinking of going bigger to a .40 or 45. What do you think?I have 2 choices (since I am also poor) Keep the 9mm or trade it in for a .40 or .45

Whats a better round for defense? - Better yet, whats the best!

Thanks for looking!

Sean K
namesean@yahoo.com
PA, USA

Sean K

Comments

• Options
    Lt.smittyLt.smitty Member Posts: 74 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have had all three and you just have to make your mind up on which best suits you. Large capacity is not the main issue when it comes to a carry gun. What matters is that you can hit what you are aiming for and can put the assailant down if you have to. Ammo makers make a wide variety of bullets for all three calibers you mentioned. Many of them are potent man stoppers. The 40 and 45 are good choices ,but there is a larger selection of 9mm ammo now than there ever was. What needs to be considered is recoil, concealability, and reliability. Just shoot what you like and can control. Just shoot it well. Most premium hollow points are good selections for defense in all three calibers. If you are good with the 9mm stick with it and you will have confidence in it. Just my opinion.
  • Options
    pickenuppickenup Member Posts: 22,844 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I do not think that anyone has ever asked this question on this board before. The best round for a carry gun? Why, the one in the chamber of course.
    Just funnin with ya. [:o)]