In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Buyers remorse or mid-life crisis????

LaidbackDanLaidbackDan Member Posts: 13,143 ✭✭✭
edited October 2005 in General Discussion
Has anybody here ever bought a large ticket item and felt guilty about it ?
Besides firearms I've always been fascinated by Rolex watches. I am a amateur Horologist (watch repair)and have several antique pocket watches I've collected and restored but have never owned a really nice Swiss timepiece. My wife and myself went to a antique show over the weekend and our Jeweler was there, I had asked them several months earlier if they ever ran across any Rolex's to let me know ( I really never expected them to as they specialize in antique jewelery )I was shown my dream Rolex (President) and a Breitling. My wife apparently knew a head of time that they had them and totally surprised me when she told me to pick one of the two. The both of them were 18K gold, one of them being a couple of thousand dollars more than the other (Rolex). I literally stood there for over a hour and a half trying to decide on which one and then a additional hour trying to decide if I should do it at all. I did eventually purchase the Rolex and have been battling myself over it ever since (my wife is fine with it,it's my problem). I am really psychoanalyzing myself, perhaps I'm going through a mid-life crisis and picked a watch over a sports car or a affair.
It is now my new "Safe Queen" (you can bet your life I'll be carrying if I wear it anywhere)and is a reasonable investment and a heirloom to my children. It's just the guilt of it's cost (this might have been put toward possible needed future therapy ?) and why do I feel like I had to have it.