In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

WD-40 on guns

crosshaircrosshair Member Posts: 635 ✭✭✭✭
edited July 2007 in General Discussion
How do you fellows feel about using wd-40 on your guns to oil them up after using them. I have heard different opinions on this matter.I have been using it for several years now and my guns all look like the day a bought them or the day a received them as a gift from my father and mother when I was just a kid, Blued and stainless. I have had people say don't ever use this oil on a gun but I find it hard to beleive after using it for so long and the guns still look brand new!

Believe nothing that you hear and only one half of what you see!!

Comments

• mark christianmark christian Member Posts: 24,453 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    This same question has come up dozens of times, both here and on ask the experts. The general opinion tends to be (as well as my own) that while WD40 is at probably adequit for use on firearms, there are many firearms specific lubricants/protectants which are much more effective and their costs, while higher than WD40, are not prohibitive.

Mark T. Christian
  • p3skykingp3skyking Member Posts: 23,916 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Brylcream used to look good on hair too. WD-40 can be used on weapons,however, it is best for locks, hinges, and that sort of hardware.

Weapons grade oil is slightly heavier as a rule and is composed of compounds of a different nature.

If you are happy with WD-40, nothing beats success.
  • D@DD@D Member Posts: 4,407
    edited November -1
    I prefer Brake-Free but if its working for you stick with it.
  • crosshaircrosshair Member Posts: 635 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I do not see where it is doing damage so I am going to keep using it! Thanks!

• Tailgunner1954Tailgunner1954 Member Posts: 7,734 ✭✭