In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Olympics

2»

Comments

• offerorofferor Member Posts: 8,625 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    7mm --Your wife sounds like a very bright lady. I've been driving for 35 years plus, and in another 20 years you'll be able to know what that much experience is like. Have run a 357 Camaro, 400 GTO, Supra Twin Turbo, Porsche 928 (wimpy), Mercedes 450SL, and even a '69 Shelby Mustang. That sort of car is unique, too.My intent was not really to single out trucks. My complaint is really just about bad driving, period. No signals, impeding traffic, all that junk. Sometimes it may be a truck, other times a car, SUV or van. So we can put to rest the idea that we're fighting over trucks. We were really talking about driving, I guess.It's the same thing for us performance car people, of course. We can do lots of scary-looking things in a car that responds to our every whim perfectly -- without ever putting a trucker, or any other driver, in any real danger. In that Supra, 115 was like doing 70 mph. Pulling over a couple lanes for an exit ramp may take someone's breath away, but it was smooth as ice cream sliding down your throat, and the car was so precise in accelerating, maneuvering and decelerating that it was safe as standing still at any speed. The car stopped on a dime, too -- 17" Z-rated tires and 12" 4-wheel disc brakes. That kind of superefficiency is hard to describe to someone in a regular 'ol vehicle. Makes the open road a real pleasure when you can find some. People want to race you occasionally, but I almost never bothered. When you have a twin turbo that goes 0-60 in four seconds or less, you just smile and think, "in your dreams, bud." Cruising in a true sports car is confidence and precision on 4 wheels. There's nothing to prove to anyone. It's just great driving.Of course, yah ca