In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Which Gun?

garandfangarandfan Member Posts: 271 ✭✭✭
edited July 2002 in General Discussion
My friend is looking to buy his first handgun and he wants it in 9mm. It will be used for plinking and just general shooting. He has shot handguns before so he is not a complete beginnner and he doesn't want a .22(even though I suggested to him that he get a 22). He is looking to spend no more than $400, but wants to keep it near $350. I suggested a Ruger P89 as they are good and reliable guns. I also mentioned a Cz75B, I have no experience with these but heard many good things about them. Which one do you guys think is the best and do you have any other ideas. Thanks.

"To be prepared for War is one of the most
effectual means of preserving peace"-George Washington

Edited by - garandfan on 07/01/2002 02:41:52

Comments

• Options
    garandfangarandfan Member Posts: 271 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I find I can buy a Bushmaster for X number of dollars but can buy a colt for $200.00 more. Thoughts of previous owners of both? I'm talking about a A2 government.
  • Options
    royc38royc38 Member Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Either one should fit the bill. You also could look at the Taurus line maybe a 92/99 series. They are good quality and used ones can be found in that price range.
  • Options
    NighthawkNighthawk Member Posts: 12,022 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The Ruger P89 is a very sweet,reliable and good shooting hand gun.If properly taken care of it will last a lifetime.I know of one small P.D. in our area that issues it as their duty weapon.

Rugster
  • Options
    dads-freeholddads-freehold Member Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1