In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

L.E.O.'s weigh in on this

Submariner .Submariner . Member Posts: 165 ✭✭✭
edited April 2002 in General Discussion
i drive a truck for a living as most of yall already know.i have a Tn handgun carry permit.lets say im in texas and nunn pulls me over,just for argument sake say ive got a .38 spcl in my sleeper for personal defense.technicly im breaking the law right?even though TN and TX has reciprocity with one another?if i was in my car i would be legal but just cause im in a commercial vehicle involved in interstate commerce im a criminal as i understand it anyway.now im in Tx not too long ago and a deputy sherriff and i are engaged in a wonderful gun discussion(yes truckers and cops can get along when it is 4:00am and were both gunnuts and noone else was around to see we were getting along)and he told me if i had a permit from a state that tx reciprocated with he wouldnt have any trouble with it.so im just trying to get a feel for what most of you cops think cause yall are the ones that are gonna decide this matter in the field.thanx walt
Truck Driver,Submarine Veteran,Rusty Wallace fan,and piss poor typist E-MAIL WNUNLEY@USIT.NET

Comments

• Options
    Rafter-SRafter-S Member Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Leave the gun in the sleeper and don't bring up the fact you have it. The LEO has no reason to search your truck so don't worry. Just take your ticket or whatever and go on.I carried a pistol (in my car) in Texas for over 30 years before we had permits. Was stopped several times--never once did I get searched--didn't give the officers a reason to search me.Be curteous and let them do their job...then proceed on with your pistol.
  • Options
    jeenyesjeenyes Member Posts: 330 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1