In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Time Zone switch for Indiana may not happen

Smokeeater 38Smokeeater 38 Member Posts: 2,735
edited February 2004 in General Discussion
I like the time zone we are in now and see no reason to change. I like the fact that we don't change time in the summer also.

Time switch may stay grounded in the House

By Mike Smith
Associated Press Writer
February 16, 2004 6:28 PM

INDIANAPOLIS -- House Speaker Patrick Bauer suggested Monday that the chamber may not vote on a resolution seeking to have most of Indiana moved to the Central time zone and observe daylight-saving time.

"It might not (get a vote)," said the South Bend Democrat, who has the power to decide such matters. "I'm not saying one way or the other, really. I'm just studying the situtation."

Bauer said the divisive issue had suddenly popped up, he was perplexed as to why "it's back on the table," and lawmakers already have "a lot on our plate."

"I don't see advantages or disadvantages, and I think that's the problem," Bauer said in response to reporters' questions on the topic. "Some people are so convinced that a time change is going to bring in jobs and things like that, and other people believe time change will ruin their life. There's not a consistency."

Longtime Rep. Chet Dobis, D-Merrillville, said last Thursday he wanted the House to vote on a resolution asking the federal government to move most of Indiana to the Central time zone. He said he sensed momentum behind the switch and believed the resolution would pass the House.

But he acknowledged then that he had yet to discuss the idea with Bauer. The speaker said Monday the two have since talked.