In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Going out on a limb ...A Gun Question

William81William81 Member Posts: 24,625 ✭✭✭✭
edited March 2014 in General Discussion
I have been hanging out here for almost 14 years. Every once in a while, there is a thread where someone talks about selling a gun(s) and there are always answers along the lines of "I would NEVER sell a gun"

As I retired a few months back and working on moving to another State etc, I have considered selling off a few firearms I hardly every shoot. To me they are small stacks of cash that can be used to obtain other items.

So the question is: "Why would you Never sell a gun ??" Not trying to be a smartbutt, I just am trying to understand the mindset.

Comments

• Options
    ruger41ruger41 Member Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Family heirloom for some. I have a couple of guns I would never sell--Grandpa's Colt, my Large Loop Winchester 94 for example.
  • Options
    RobOzRobOz Member Posts: 9,523 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have guns that I would never sell. I also have stuff that I have acquired that I would have no problem selling off. Also, I always try to get another gun or something I really want. Using the money to help with the move is no different than getting something you really want.
  • Options
    William81William81 Member Posts: 24,625 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    That I understand completely....I have guns that belonged to my Dad, my Grandpas and even a couple from my Great Grandpa. Those stay in the family....
  • Options
    1BigGuy1BigGuy Member Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Family history. My Dad handed down to me his 1911 Colt (as well as a couple other firearms).
    Someday it will go to my son.
    Hopefully not for a long time though. [8D]
  • Options