In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Is it OK to Vacuum-Seal Ammo

roy rogersroy rogers Member Posts: 15 ✭✭
edited February 2004 in General Discussion
Has anyone tried to using a food vacuum sealer to seal ammo for long term storage?[?] It looks like the vacuuming the air and moisture would help long term storage but would there be unwanted effects?

Comments

• muggstermuggster Member Posts: 420 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I'm no expert but I can't imagine that it would have any negative affects.Why not use ammo cans,they are cheaper than those dam vacuum sealer gizmos.....plus,you gotta buy "speacial" vacuum sealer bags to go with it.How much,if I may ask,ammo are you storing?

Muggster
  • roy rogersroy rogers Member Posts: 15 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Sometimes I will buy a case and usually only shoot a couple hundred rounds of a caliber a year. It would be nice to seal 20 to 40 rounds for a one time outing. I tried my wife's vacuum sealer on a couple of boxes and the boxes collapsed a bit and I got nervous (thinking that the bullets would pop out of the cases due the pressure drop being too fast) and opened one and the rounds seemed to be OK. Then I got to thinking that I have never seen ammo new ammo vacuum sealed, so there might be a reason it should not be.
  • gun_runnergun_runner Member Posts: 8,999
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by muggster
    I'm no expert but I can't imagine that it would have any negative affects.Why not use ammo cans,they are cheaper than those dam vacuum sealer gizmos.....plus,you gotta buy "speacial" vacuum sealer bags to go with it.How much,if I may ask,ammo are you storing?

Muggster
    Why do you care how much ammo he is storing?????????????

Larry
  • daddodaddo Member Posts: 3,408
    edited November -1