In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

scooter riders Incredible Motorcycle Journeys

sharpshooter039sharpshooter039 Member Posts: 5,897 ✭✭✭
edited May 2009 in General Discussion
tell us a story about your best or longest ride, Mine was in 1979 when I graduated high school, I had just bought an old Harley Electra Glide and my buddies both borrowed their dads bikes , we decided to ride from a little town in north Louisiana to Alaska, We headed out I-20 across Texas with sleeping bags and one old pup tent, rode it to where it turns to I-10 out in west Texas and went on out to Arizona where we jumped off and went to San Diego. We spent several days bumming on the beaches from there up through LA on up the coast to just south of San Francisco, then we jumped over so we could ride up through the Yosemite National Park to see the red woods, worked our way back over to the coast and rode up to Portland spending several days along the way just loving life, One of the guys had an older brother in Seattle and we laid up there for a few days and then headed north, Got to the Canadian border up by Blaine/White Rock and they would not let the other guy with us cross, we did not think about he was only 17 and on a bike registered to his dad not him, No amount of talking and phone calls would get us through so feeling rejected we done what every bunch of teenage boys would do, tried to find a place to sneek across. Run up on a group of other guys on bikes and got to talking, they invited us to stay with them until we made up our minds what we were gonna do next, This is where it got interesting , they lived in an honest to God Hippy Commune outside of Billingham Washington, Nothing but free love and happy little weeds, we stayed there for three weeks and was more tired when we left than we were when we got there, The other guys wer