In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Need some advice, Please.

oldfriendsoldfriends Member Posts: 167 ✭✭✭
edited February 2004 in General Discussion
I really feel stupid about this but I have finally decided I would see what sort of useful advice I could get from this forum. Here goes!! Sometime within the last 12 to 18 months I have lost a pistol. (I have been putting off asking this out of embarrassment for about 4-5 months.) When I travel, I usually take one with me. I usually put it under a pillow in the motel room. Well, I think, but I am not absolutely positive, I left one in a motel. I called the ones I remembered staying at but no luck. Don't have a "warm fuzzy" about one of the motels but they said it is not there. I was thinking about it and was concerned about liability along with some manner of possible recovery if the finder tries to sell or pawn it where the police check SNs. I don't usually take the same pistol everytime and this resulted in the delay in my identifying the loss. Please be kind in your comments I feel bad enough as it is. Thanks.

Comments

• bolthandlebolthandle Member Posts: 1,213 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Sounds like the room cleaning lady/man has a new handgun.[B)]

Sorry for your loss.[:(]

It will probably never turn up.

But you never know, stranger things have happened.

Bolt

PEACE THROUGH SUPERIOR FIREPOWER
  • p3skykingp3skyking Member Posts: 23,916 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Report it as lost/stolen to your local PD. In your report, give the names and addresses of the hotels you stayed at and the dates.

You might also ask your local boys to pass the info on to the PD's in the hotel jusisdictions.

That's about all you can do really. Once it goes on NCIC if it ever gets back into commerce, it should be flagged.